You are at
Vasantha Pravachanamrutham 2009

Vasantha Pravachanamrutam 2009

Spring is the season for contemplation. As nature gears itself for new life in the form of new leaves and flowers, so is humanity. It is time to look forward nurturing new ideas, new thoughts and look into oneself seeking truth.

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Tirupati Kendra has been organizing Vasantha Pravachanaamrutham, a series of religious discourses by eminent personalities in Vasantha ruthu (spring season) every year.

This year, Sri Medasani Mohan, Director, Annamacharya Project, TTD and a well known Avadhani conducted the discourses Sri Krishna Kathaamrutham stories from Bhagavatha and Bharatha about Lord Krishna.

The discourses went on for 11 days, each day earmarked for a specific phase in Lord Krishna's Avatar.

Sri K.V.Ramanachari, I.A.S., Executive Officer, TTD and Chairman, Bhavan's Tirupati Kendra inaugurated the session. In his address, he noted that Lord Krishna is well known as Jagadguru and his teachings are relevant even today. He stressed that compared to materialistic pleasures, attainment of mental peace is more important. He quoted eloquently from the preachings of Andal and other Alwars.

From day one, Sri Medasani Mohan regaled the audience rendering poems from Andhra Bhagavatha and Bharatha . He began with Krishna's birth, childhood pranks, slaying of demons and his relationship with Pandavas. He built up the story gradually and led the audience through Krishna's marriages, his rayabaram (war message) to the Kauravas and ultimately his role as charioteer to Arjuna (Parthasaarathi)a. Each episode highlighted Lord Krishna's life in a new aspect.

Dr.G.Subramanyam, Director, SVIMS, attended the last day of the session as Chief Guest. He said that reading religious scriptures relieves mental stress.

On the concluding day, Dr.G.Subramanyam, Director, SVIMS, Sri N.Satyanarayana Raju, Director, Bhavan's Tirupati Kendra and other dignitories felicitated Sri Medasani Mohan.

Sri N.K.Raja Rao, Sri J.Durga Prasad, Sri Murali, Sri Jagga Rao, Sri Sudhakar Reddy, Sri Sarvothama Rao, Dr.Ratnamalika, Sri Sudarsana Raju, Dr.Alladi Mohan, Sri C.Srinivasan, and Smt.K.Hymavathi took part in the programme.